Return to Headlines

School board approves new principal for Burnet Elementary

The Ector County ISD Board of Trustees held a workshop on the evening of February 11. A recap of the agenda is below. Most items on this agenda were discussion only; Trustees did take action in the decision to hire a new principal for Burnet Elementary School.


  1. Roll Call. Delma Abalos and Carol Gregg were absent.


  1. Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law.


  1. Superintendent Dr. Scott Muri opened the meeting by offering congratulations to Deputy Superintendent Dr. Stephanie Howard on being selected for the National Superintendents Academy. The Academy has a very rigorous application process. He said it speaks well of her skill set and her determination to invest in herself and continuous learning.    


  1. Public Comment. No one requested to speak.


  1. Report/discussion items

A. Trustees reviewed campus turnaround plans which are required for the four schools that are currently in their second year with an F rating. The campus Turn Around Plans have been written to be implemented by each campus for the next 3 years if they are unable to earn the “Met Standard” designation. Campuses required to submit Turn Around Plans are Bowie MS, Crockett MS, Wilson & Young MS, and Burnet Elementary. The schools have been working on strategies for improvement, and building this plan since early in the school year. In addition to learning about the Texas Education Agency requirements for these plans, Trustees got a look at how these schools are progressing on district and unit assessments so far this year.


B. Trustees heard a report on the Advanced Academics Department. Advanced Academics is responsible for ECISD’s Gifted & Talented program, Honors courses for grades 6-10, Pre-Advanced Placement classes, Advanced Placement courses, International Baccalaureate courses, Decathlon and Octathlon teams and competitions, Chess for Champs and Camp SIP (Scholars in Progress) summer camp. More than 3,000 elementary students are in the Gifted & Talented program, and more than 10,000 students district-wide are involved in the various Advanced Academics courses and programs.


C. Trustees were introduced to those selected to be part of the Aspiring Principals Academy. The APA is designed to promote leadership capacity in current educators who are interested in pursuing a campus administrative position. There was an application process for the academy, and administrators chosen will commit to training sessions after hours to learn more about leadership. The following assistant principals were selected for the Academy: Jance Morris, Assistant Principal Odessa High School; Hector Limon, Assistant Principal Odessa High School; Thaddeus McCalister, Assistant Principal Odessa High School; Senovio Ortiz, Assistant Principal Crockett Middle School; Fallon McLane, Assistant Principal San Jacinto Elementary; Jennifer Bizzell, Assistant Principal Jordan Elementary; Paula Dannheim, Assistant Principal Hays STEAM Academy; Christopher Hancock, Dean of Students New Tech Odessa; Tiffany Rickman, Assistant Principal Blackshear Magnet Elementary. They are pictured with the five executive directors of leadership. Jance Morris is not pictured.


The assistant principals and executive directors of leadership standing at the front of the board room.


  1. Trustees spent about 10 minutes in closed session.

A. Trustees voted 5-0 to approve Mayela Sanchez Serrano as the new principal for Burnet Elementary School. Ms. Serrano comes from El Paso where she has led successful turnaround efforts in San Elizario ISD. There she served as a teacher, counselor, assistant principal and principal.


  1. There we no closing remarks.


The meeting adjourned at 7:47 p.m.