Return to Headlines

Congratulations to ECISD's 2023-24 Employees of the Year

Ector County ISD leaders are proud to announce the 2023-24 Employees of the Year, 15 team members who believe in the school district’s vision that OUR Students are THE Future and who live it out in their daily work. No matter the role or the title, every member of the ECISD team plays a key role in fulfilling our mission to inspire and challenge every student to be prepared for success and to be adaptable in an ever-changing society.


The surprise deliveries are made during the month of May and the employees each receive a large poster to display, an award and a cash gift from the Education Foundation of Odessa. Congratulations to these employees and thank you for the work you every day for our students and your colleagues!


Elementary Teacher of the Year – Sylvia Ponce, 2nd grade Bilingual Multi-Classroom Leader, Cavazos Elementary


Secondary Teacher of the Year – Samantha Baker, 8th grade Math and Algebra I Multi-Classroom Leader, Bonham Middle School


Elementary Principal of the Year – Julie Marshall, Dowling Elementary


Secondary Principal of the Year – Dr. Delesa Styles, Permian High School


Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year – Denise De Loera, West Elementary


Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year – Nicole Jeffery, Bonham Middle School


Paraprofessional Employee of the Year – Sulema Jaquez, Special Education Aide, Transition Learning Center 18+


Professional Employee of the Year – Irma Lopez, Instructional Coach, E.K. Downing Elementary


Counselor of the Year – Chelsea Pinkerton, Permian High School


School Nutrition Employee of the Year – Maria Madrid, Head Cook, Lamar Early Education Center


Nursing Services Employee of the Year – Jessica Martinez, School Nurse, Cavazos Elementary


Transportation Department Employee of the Year – Margarita Bennett, Special Education Driver


Police Department Employee of the Year – Vanessa Flores, New Tech Odessa Officer


Maintenance Department Employee of the Year – Rennette Flores, Warehouse Assistant


Custodial Department Employee of the Year – due to scheduling this will be announced soon!